learning, knowledge, process

if you like it then you shoulda put a badge on it… thanks to the tip from Laurie, I did the ‘course’ and now have my first badge, yay (too easy)

I'm a Web 2.0 tools master

but seriously folks… one of the things I’m really here in this mooc to consider is how some of the key words at the centre of a thesis I’m writing play out in an educational environment like this, and I’m picking up heaps of links to blogs that are following similar lines of thought. One I was just reading this morning is from a maths educator who was reflecting on an article she’d read by Elizabeth Ellsworth [(1989). Why Doesn’t This Feel Empowering? Working through the Repressive Myths of Critical PedagogyHarvard Educational Review59(3), 297].

The question of interest arising for the blogger, Angela Vierling-Claassen, is: “can a constructivist MOOC, moocified course, or personal learning network” create an educational experience in which “‘knowing’ doesn’t just describe the speech acts of those in power”… what is the potential of a ‘connectivist MOOC’ in that enterprise…?

Being in the middle of this clearly ‘connectivist’ mooc, I’m listening, watching, thinking about this kind of thing… I’m not personally interested in buzz words and pseudo categories, but am always interested in discussions of the nature of knowledge and how that’s perceived in educational contexts, and in the degree to which educators and learners do or don’t ‘acknowledge’ and manage linguistic processes, networks and social contexts in learning environments…

I like the acknowledgement in this post of the ‘fantasy’ element of certain stories we have in mind in education, notably, that of equity of access or of ’empowering’ the voiceless to participate and make choices, and how the stories that might motivate may also undermine the very endeavour (by being in denial of reality and therefore glossing over the very things that need to be attended to)…

But a keyword in all educational discourse is of course knowledge, and in this moocspace it seems a key consideration how we imagine not only what it is to know and to come to know, but also what technologies have to do with it, with our stories about the experience imagined as noun (knowledge as thing to acquire and possess) or imagined as verb and process, or imagined as space, as circumstance…. how is the experience of ‘learning’ represented, and how do technologies feature in it? I guess these are some of the things that will be represented in my assignment, because they’re certainly on my mind…

Meanwhile, I busy myself playing with the various technologies of learning and with proving that I have them…. off to pursue another ‘badge’ somewhere, perhaps to get lost in space….

4 comments on “learning, knowledge, process

  1. Hey, Emily

    The idea of a “digital badge” is one that was not part of my network and language until the last semester. A badge sparks an interest not only in practices that might be useful for learners, but more importantly opens a door for a conversation. Conversations that involve a language that’s quite foreign to those who live outside of a networked community such as the world of MOOCs in which we move. (I took the PLP Course, but could never seem to get the badge to work.)

    The idea of what it mean to know and the role that technology plays in the construction of knowledge is vitally important to our discussion of MOOCs. The phrase, “‘knowing’ doesn’t just describe the speech acts of those in power” is one says, I have more to tell you. I need to elaborate my ideas. (I need the link, Emily!) I am curious as to who is believed to be in power and what a speech act encompasses. Technology is certainly a powerful tool that not only allows, but I think, demands that I make my learning visible. A crucial component of being a networked individual is the ability to recognize, engage and work networks of information.

    The idea that we need to consider the linguistic processes is certainly one worth discussing. The manner in which language is processed is of particular importance to me as I consider how the brain processes, interprets and stores language. (As when you consider an individual with CAPD.) The vocabulary associated with networking and learning in this context is evidenced in the number of times one has to “add” a word to the dictionary on the word processor. Ideas that I discuss with my virtual network incorporate this language. Our discussions flow comfortably. When I attempt to engage those outside of the “networked” community, I find that my listener fades as I move further and further into the discussion of connectivism, MOOCs, digital and networked learning.

    I’m interested in learning how others in our cyber world transition from one conversation to another.

    • Just before I continue this conversation about meaty matters, I think you may be having problems getting your badge to work because you’re pasting the code into the editing window while in visual rather than html mode?

      You should be able to see two tabs on the top right corner of the wsiywg editing window in your blog or other website software – if you copy the code that the PLP folks sent you onto your web page when in text or html mode, then go back to visual mode you should hey presto then see the image rather than the string of text – hope that helps you show off your ‘skills’ 🙂

  2. Emily, you raise some really important questions that should be at the center of discourse on education, namely, the nature of knowing and learning. How do we learn? What constitutes learning? Is it a process or a thing? What does it mean to know something? Are all “knowledges” created equal? I would like to also bring the question of power here and its relationship to knowledge. Until recently, knowledge was the realm of privilege, of those who hold power and exercise power through knowledge (and other means). Is this changing? Do we live in an era when knowledge creation and distribution become decentralized and democratic processes? And if, yes, aren’t we also destroying the absolutes against which we used to measure levels of knowledge and creating a new, relativistic knowledge – knowledge that has meaning only within a context and only to the participants in a group that shares that knowledge and that has no meaning or relevance to those outside the group? (I am not really implying here that this is good or bad but just observing a process.)

  3. Hi Laurie and Desi, I just started writing an immediate response to you, but it seems to be turning into an essay or a novel or a thesis or something, I can’t for the life of me shut up (!), so I might just continue to mull for a bit, edit radically so I don’t bore readers to death, and make another post that picks up on the points and questions you’ve left here – which I appreciate very much – go team! I’m really enjoying how we’re getting some meat onto the barbie (BBQ) of our quad bloggy interactions ☺

Leave a Reply

